Knoxville Children’s Theatre will present 14 live performances of the inspirational play, “Lilies Of The Field,” adapted from the novel by William E. Barrett and made famous by the Oscar-winning comedy-drama film, starring Sidney Poitier and Lilia Skala.

The live stage play will be performed March 30 through April 15:
Fri., Mar. 30 at 7 PM, Sat., Mar. 31 at 1 PM & 5 PM, Sun., Apr. 1 at 3 PM
Thurs., Apr. 5 at 7 PM, Fri., Apr. 6 at 7 PM, Sat., Apr. 7 at 1 PM & 5 PM, Sun., Apr. 8 at 3 PM,
Thurs., Apr. 12 at 7 PM, Fri., Apr. 13 at 7 PM, Sat., Apr. 14 at 1 PM & 5 PM, Sun., Apr. 15 at 3 PM.

Based on a true story and the Oscar-winning film, “Lilies Of The Field” is the gently humorous tale of how a group of German nuns convince an aimless drifter to help them build a chapel in the middle of the New Mexico desert. Presented especially for Easter, this inspirational yarn proves God does indeed “move in mysterious ways!”

The play is performed by 11 talented young actors, from ages 13 to 16. Derrick Washington, Jr. plays Homer Smith, the carefree young man who happens upon the Sisters when his car breaks down in the New Mexico desert. Hallie Boring plays the Mother Superior who believes that Homer has been sent from God to help her build a chapel. The South Carolina Baptist and the Catholic nun engage in a battle of wills over the fate of Mother’s planned chapel.

Two actors are making their KCT debuts: Emalee Springfield and Allison Strong.

The rest of the cast includes Natalia Adams, Reece Brown, Cody Chaffins, Draven Copeland, Nico Ellerbusch, Saiya Palmer, and Quintin Rhodes.

KCT Academy Director Dennis E. Perkins will direct the production. Ryan Cross is the stage manager. Jaden Lily Branson will be the play’s stage manager. KCT is East Tennessee’s leading producer of plays for children and families.