Knoxville Children’s Theatre, in partnership with The Ritchie Company, will present 14 live performances featuring the hilarious characters of Barbara Park in “Junie B. Jones Is Not A Crook.” This is the Knoxville premiere of the new play by acclaimed playwright Allison Gregory.

The live stage play will be performed September 22 through October 8: Fri., Sept. 22 at 7 PM, Sat., Sept. 23 at 1 PM & 5 PM, Sun., Sept. 24 at 3 PM Thurs., Sept. 28 at 7 PM, Fri., Sept. 29 at 7 PM, Sat., Sept. 30 at 1 PM & 5 PM, Sun., Oct. 1 at 3 PM, Thurs., Oct. 5 at 7 PM, Fri., Oct. 6 at 7 PM, Sat., Oct. 7 at 1 PM & 5 PM, Sun., Oct. 8 at 3 PM.

Something terrible has happened to Junie B. Jones! Someone stole her new furry mittens! So, when Junie B. finds a wonderful pen of many colors, she should be allowed to keep it, right? And there’s a new boy in class, and he’s the handsomest! But both Grace and Lucille want him to be their boyfriend. Maybe he will love Junie B. if he sees her wonderful pen. It is okay to keep it, right? Junie B. Jones is not a crook… or is she?

This funny play is chock full of the humorous life lessons that Barbara Park’s series of books is known for. The show is based on two of those books: “Junie B. Jones Is Not A Crook” and “Junie B. Jones Loves Handsome Warren.”

The play is performed by 11 talented young actors, from ages 8 to 12. 11-year-old Jillian Barry will perform the role of Junie B. Julia Lance and Caroline Simmons will play Junie’s friends, Grace and Lucille, respectively. Tanner White will perform the role of Handsome Warren.

The rest of the cast includes Logan Bell, Nico Ellerbusch, Autumn Harbison, Cate Harper, Alex Montgomery, Hattie Perry, and Delana Pritchard.

KCT Producing Director Zack Allen directs the production. Vine Middle student Jacob Sousley is the stage manager. The show’s designers are all high-school and middle-school students: Derrick Washington, Jr. (L&N STEM), Max Harper (Bearden Middle), and Bethany Moon (West High). KCT is East Tennessee’s leading producer of plays for children and families.